The overall mission of the Heartland Juvenile Services Association is to enable juvenile service providers, members of the justice system and personnel of juvenile detention centers, correctional facilities, staff secure programs, group homes, emergency shelters and other facilities/institutions throughout the heartland region of the United States to join together in mutual efforts to strengthen and improve residential and community-based services for youth and their families through the implementation of best practices.

Our Board Members 

HJSA, established in 1992, comprises of individuals from a variety of juvenile services and organizations accross the heartland. Please find a listing of our current board members below.

Ryan Mahr, President

Sarpy County Corrections, Warden

Jerid Wedige, Immediate Past President

Nebraska State Probation Administration, Probation Education Director


Tami Steensma, Secretary

Sarpy County Juvenile Justice Center, Director of Juvenile Services


Jesse Jensen, Treasurer

Northeast Nebraska Juvenile Services, Program Director

Jeremy Hugins, President Elect  

Southern Peaks Regional Treatment Center

Trish Brockman

Nebraska Youth Correctional Facility

Renee Iwan

Douglas County Youth Center, Retired/Consultant

​Brenda Jennings

Motivate 2 Communicate, Owner

Julie Kindler

Pathfinders Support Services, CEU

Lisa Patterson

Omni Inventive Care

​Mark Ward

Mark Ward Counseling LLC, Owner

Deb Zimmerer

Bright Horizons, Director